American Academy Of Ophthalmology Honors 18 Ophthalmologists With International Scholar Award

The American Academy of Ophthalmology (Academy) congratulates the 18 ophthalmologists who have been honored with its International Scholar Award in 2010. The award was developed by the Academy to honor international members and their lifelong commitment to learning.

To qualify, awardees must be active International members in the Academy, been a past recipient of the Academy’s International Ophthalmologist Education Award, completed a timed, online self-assessment test, and earned 60 Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits within two years of applying. Half (30) of the credits must be earned from Academy-sponsored CME activities.

“We would like to congratulate these 18 international members who exemplify the educational mission of the Academy,” said David W. Parke II, MD, executive vice president and CEO of the Academy. “We honor them for their on-going dedication to their profession and to providing superior patient care.”

The 2010 International Scholar Award recipients are:

– Alay S. Banker, MD (India)

– Amit Tarafdar, MD (India)

– Angela Maria Dolmetsch, MD (Colombia)

– Antonio Scoyni, MD (Italy)

– David Goldblum, MD (Switzerland)

– Ehab N. El Rayes, MD (Egypt)

– Fausto M. Lechuga-Ortiz MD (Mexico)

– Jeffrey Dean Chambers, MD (Canada)

– Manuel Moriche Carretero, MD (Spain)

– Martin H. Devoto, MD (Argentina)

– Miguel Paciuc, MD (Mexico)

– Miloslav B. Bozdech, MD (Canada)

– Prashant G. Bhatia, MBBS (United Arab Emirates)

– Rekha R Khandelwal, MBBS, FRCS (India)

– Romero P. Aroca, MD (Spain)

– Sanjoy Chowdhury, MBBS (India)

– Sofia N. Androudi , MD (Greece)

– Yousef I. Al-Megbel, MD (Saudi Arabia)


American Academy of Ophthalmology